I'm trying to find or create a Perl script that at runtime will simply take a specified logfile or logfiles, and append todays date onto the end of it's name. If possible, I would also like the option of zipping the new file up. I can then run this as a Cron job every month, and keep a nice labelled archive of logs.

I've found quite a few on the net already, but they either require compiling and some form of installation of files into areas I can't access on my host, or they're just too complex and try to do too much - my requirements are very very simple, it's really just a renaming script.

Does anyone know of something that does just this already, or do you have any code that could be adapted easily? As a last resort, could someone give me a framework or pointers on how easy it would be for an absolute beginner in Perl - I've done some basic C and VB before.

Thanks!

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

I need more information, exactly on what you want... like... what you have access to all. Let me put it this way, if you want to give me the paths to the log files, and the paths to where you want them saved, I'll build it for you. I'm not 100% sure about the zipping.... I know I could tar them, but tarring individual files? I am sure I could bzip it or something..... let me know, my e-mail is available on this site by clicking my name, and following the menus.

Looks simple. If I understand correctly, you just have to rename the file to todays date and also compress it.

Yes. Truth is, it's already done, and he's already using it. I coded it, and commented it line by line, so he could learn from and modify it for future needs.

Someone E-mailed Me, Requesting The Source For This, So, Here is the actual script (with modified paths for privacy):

#!/usr/bin/perl

# The Line Above Might Need To Be Changed To Wherever Perl is Located

#################################
# Custom Defined User Variables #
#################################