1,105,406 Community Members

how to disable editing in listview table

Member Avatar
kimangel
Junior Poster in Training
73 posts since Jan 2013
Reputation Points: 13 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Hi experts, I have listview table but when I click or double click the row the data could be changed or edited? How could I disable it but still able to select every row? Many thanks!

Kimangel

Member Avatar
kimangel
Junior Poster in Training
73 posts since Jan 2013
Reputation Points: 13 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

the purpose here is that changes could only be done in textboxes not directly on listview table.

Member Avatar
QVeen72
Veteran Poster
1,016 posts since Nov 2006
Reputation Points: 104 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 164 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 7 [?]
 
1
 

Hi,

Change the property Setting for ListView:
LabelEdit = 1 -lvwManual

Regards
Veena

Member Avatar
Reverend Jim
Noli mentula
5,450 posts since Aug 2010
Reputation Points: 746 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 653 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 51 [?]
Moderator
Featured
 
0
 

Perhaps the behaviour is different in VB6 and earlier but in VB 2010 the items in the ListView are not editable. Are you sure you mean ListView and not some other control?

Member Avatar
AndreRet
Industrious Poster
4,492 posts since Jan 2008
Reputation Points: 362 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 499 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 24 [?]
 
0
 

If there is no code under the listview double click event, it will not do anything.

If you want it to NOT do anything, remove the code from the double click event...

On single click, remove the code that lets the user edit teh data... It seems that you have some copied code that you do not understand fully.

Member Avatar
Reverend Jim
Noli mentula
5,450 posts since Aug 2010
Reputation Points: 746 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 653 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 51 [?]
Moderator
Featured
 
0
 

If there is no code under the listview double click event, it will not do anything.

This might be easier to determine if the OP had actually provided code.

Member Avatar
AndreRet
Industrious Poster
4,492 posts since Jan 2008
Reputation Points: 362 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 499 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 24 [?]
 
0
 

indeed. :)

Member Avatar
Reverend Jim
Noli mentula
5,450 posts since Aug 2010
Reputation Points: 746 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 653 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 51 [?]
Moderator
Featured
 
1
 

Seriously? I get a downvote for suggesting that some code might be of help in solving the problem? And for asking for a clarification on a control type? Someone has a pretty thin skin.

Member Avatar
AndreRet
Industrious Poster
4,492 posts since Jan 2008
Reputation Points: 362 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 499 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 24 [?]
 
0
 

I couldn't see the downvote. No comments added? I hate it when we help and then get downvoted because people is entirely ungratefull for teh help!!!

Gave you some on my side, should be worth more than the downvote!! :)

Question Answered as of 1 Year Ago by AndreRet, Reverend Jim and QVeen72
Member Avatar
kimangel
Junior Poster in Training
73 posts since Jan 2013
Reputation Points: 13 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Thank you experts, especially to Veena. it works.

You
This question has already been solved: Start a new discussion instead
Post:
Start New Discussion
Tags Related to this Article