I hope this is the right place. I am a network administrator for a company in Arkansas. We have two W2K3 Servers which has DNS and Exchange and all that good stuff. One of our clients was having problems sending emails to a particular domain.

I am new to this (still in college for networking), but I did a little poking around and I noticed that if I ping their mail server from our network, the ping fails. If I do it from home, it works, and also I get a totally different ip address on our network than when I ping from home.
Is this a problem with our DNS server?? Hope that makes sense. Please help.

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

What you want to do is use nslookup on the Exchange server. At a command prompt type nslookup then enter.

At the >> prompt type 'set type=mx' (without the quotes) and hit enter.
then type the domain you are trying to send the email to and hit enter.

This will show you the mx records (Mail Exchange) for the domain as your exchange server sees them. If it doesn't find any then there is your issue. It is with your DNS server. If you do get entries but not sure if they are correct you can repeat the procedure above except the first command you should run inside nslookup is 'server 4.2.2.2'. That will get dns records from a root server instead of your local dns. If the mx records match from what you had previously then your dns is fine, if not then you have found your problem.

As far as the pings go, you might have a firewall at work that blocks ICMP traffic. Instead of pinging try to telnet directly to their mailserver. Use 'telnet domainname.com 25' at a command prompt to telnet to port 25 on their server.

Thanks for the reply. I did what you said and it looks like my DNS is to blame because it is displaying a different nameserver than the root server is.