Alright, here's a problem I can't seem to figure out. I'm very new at all this, so hopefully this problem isn't too ridiculous. Basically the gist of it is in a program I made for a class; it wouldn't let the input for the cin.getline be typed unless I put a cin.ignore after a cout statement. Now I was taught that you only use cin.ignore after a cin, and not a cout line. I simplified my problem and put it in a different project and it worked without having to use the cin.ignore after the specific cout statement. I was obviously confused at the contradiction.

Here's the code that uses the cin.ignore

#include<iostream>
#include<cmath>
#include<ctime>
#include<iomanip>
using namespace std;

int main ()
{
	const int NAME_LENGTH=25, HOW_WELL=12;
	char player1Name[NAME_LENGTH], player2Name[NAME_LENGTH], p1howWell[HOW_WELL], p2howWell[HOW_WELL];
	int minRange, maxRange, p1Guess1, p1Guess2, p1Guess3, p2Guess1, p2Guess2, p2Guess3, p1score, p2score, p3score;

srand(static_cast<unsigned>(time(0)));

cout<<"Enter the smallest number in the range: ";
	cin>>minRange;
	cout<<"Enter the largest number in the range: ";
	cin>>maxRange;
	cout<<endl;

int p3rand1=rand()%(maxRange-minRange+1)+minRange, p3rand2=rand()%(maxRange-minRange+1)+minRange, p3rand3=rand()%(maxRange-minRange+1)+minRange;
	int goldenNumber=rand()%(maxRange-minRange+1)+minRange;

//Here is where the problem is:

cout<<"Player 1"<<endl;
	cout<<"Enter your name: ";
	cin.ignore(); //this right here; without it it skips the user inputing their data
	cin.getline(player1Name, NAME_LENGTH);
	cout<<"How well are you going to do? ";
	cin>>p1howWell;
	cout<<"Enter your three guesses."<<endl;
	cout<<"Answers must be between "<<minRange<<"-"<<maxRange<<": ";
	cin>>p1Guess1>>p1Guess2>>p1Guess3;
	cout<<endl;

cout<<"Player 2"<<endl;
	cout<<"Enter your name: ";
	cin.ignore();
	cin.getline(player2Name, NAME_LENGTH);
	cin>>p2howWell;
	cout<<"Answers must be between "<<minRange<<"-"<<maxRange<<": ";