Hey guys, I am a graphic designer and web developer at work and sometimes I have to bring my work home with me or sometimes I like to start my own personal web projects.

I would like to have a Mac pro as my home computer, but I would also like to be able to run Visual Studio and the IIS web server on it. I hear this is not possible in the Mac OS environment? is it possible to run IIS and visual studio(or a mac alternative) on a windows partition and still be able to upload files to it from my Mac partition. Or how feasible would it be to buy a cheaper computer running windows and install IIS on it and have my MAC connect to it?

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

I dont know much about IIS but I know that on XP Pro you get IIS but it is limited to 5 connections at the same time. You could probably install XP pro as a partition on your mac and run an FTP server on the windows side. This should let them communicate with each other but I dont know.
Regards,
Sam Rudge

I dont know much about IIS but I know that on XP Pro you get IIS but it is limited to 5 connections at the same time. You could probably install XP pro as a partition on your mac and run an FTP server on the windows side. This should let them communicate with each other but I dont know.
Regards,
Sam Rudge

Now how to you expect to run xP in one partition and MAC in the other at the same time?? To get more than 5 connections on XP you need to buy XP Server with the number of connections you want. I don't know the current costs but a few years ago Microsoft charged something like $10,000.00USD for unlimited number of connections.

As for running IIS and VC on MAC -- forget it. Get another computer for that because MAC runs on top of linux.

I would like to have a Mac pro as my home computer, but I would also like to be able to run Visual Studio and the IIS web server on it. I hear this is not possible in the Mac OS environment?