Hi guys,

Years ago (10 to be exact) I studied Computers at Uni. After Uni I fell into a succession of other jobs (non-IT related). I always felt that I should have been working in IT, seeing as I'd studied it.

I was recently made redundant and had come to a bit of a dead end in my last job so now seems as good a time as any to make that shift (besides the global recession!).

As my education was so long ago I'm looking for entry level positions only. This seems to consist of IT Support or IT Technician roles (if anyone knows of any others I'd be interested). I'm hoping my previous knowledge will come back to me more so when I'm working or at least help me to learn faster in the job. I'm in no position to go back to Education (due to the cost).

Ideally I'd like something where I'm a bit hands on, so IT Technician seems ideal to me. The only problem is there seems to be less of these jobs available so I'm trying for IT Support positions too.

My questions are:
1. How do I get a job without having experience (everyone wants experience)?
2. What is it like working in IT support (boring? satisfying? fun? etc...)?
3. What is the career progression (where do I go after: 1st line, 2nd line, 3rd line, manager)? Also is it possible to move into other roles (like programmer)?
4. Is it worth paying for a Microsoft Certified Qualification (if so which one?)?
5. Is there anything else I can do to improve my chances?

Thanks for your help!

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Sorry, I've just realised this is probably in the wrong section.

Also I'm UK based (London) if you were wondering.

BTW I've just had an email about a distance learning MCDST course for £400. Do you think this would be worth it (would it increase my chances of getting a job)? Or is it better to wait till I have a job and make the employer pay for the training.