Would you do a freelance job without a contract?

What's the minimum you look for when considering a freelance job in terms of security and some sort of payment guarantee?

What about a brief? How detailed do you expect the brief/specification to be?

Thanks! :)

Recommended Answers

All 22 Replies

no, you need to get a contract how else are you going to get paid?
You'd have no leg to stand on if your client refused to pay or starts making trouble about your work.

I've been freelancing for 25 years and never had a contract. That being said though, there were quite a few problems in the beginning because I didn't have the experience to recognize disingenuous people. I have always though laid out a prospectus so there was never any confusion of the scope and purpose of the application or project. The only time I did insist on a contract was with a large medical institution where there were many departments and people were always being shuffled in an out of the project. Other than that, most of my work is with small businesses where I'm dealing directly with the person that's signing the cheque. That being said, one thing you can't deny is a contract is just an added measure of insurance if things go sideways.

I've been freelancing for 25 years and never had a contract. That being said though, there were quite a few problems in the beginning because I didn't have the experience to recognize disingenuous people. I have always though laid out a prospectus so there was never any confusion of the scope and purpose of the application or project. The only time I did insist on a contract was with a large medical institution where there were many departments and people were always being shuffled in an out of the project. Other than that, most of my work is with small businesses where I'm dealing directly with the person that's signing the cheque. That being said, one thing you can't deny is a contract is just an added measure of insurance if things go sideways.