So, I'm deciding on my major and I can't decide between CS or CE, now I know that CE is a mix of both Engineering and programming but if I wanted to get a job working as a software engineer, would a degree in Computer Engineering be "acceptable" in place of a job that says that they only require a Computer Science degree?

What about if a job that requires a CE degree, will they accept a CS degree in place?

Or will both reject me if I don't have the only degree they specify (IE: will that software engineer job reject me because I have a degree in CE rather then CS?)

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

The main thing that I'm worried about is, if I go the route of CE (because people say that CS is boring, and if you get a degree in CE you'll be more of an AI programming, robotics, electrical guy with programming background whereas in CS you'll just have a more deep rooted understanding of computing languages.

I'm worried that if I get a degree in CE, and I want to get a job as a computer programming working as a software engineer, or working at a game company or something, and getting rejected because I have a degree in CE and not CS.

The main thing that I'm worried about is, if I go the route of CE (because people say that CS is boring, and if you get a degree in CE you'll be more of an AI programming, robotics, electrical guy with programming background whereas in CS you'll just have a more deep rooted understanding of computing languages.

I'm worried that if I get a degree in CE, and I want to get a job as a computer programming working as a software engineer, or working at a game company or something, and getting rejected because I have a degree in CE and not CS.