I recently formatted my PC, loaded Windows 98SE and now the pc is so slow that it is virtually unuasable. If I click on START, for instance, it takes about 30 seconds for the PC to act on the click. I have to assume it is a hardware problem. The PC is about 5 ½ years old.
Any suggestions would be a great help. :rolleyes:

Recommended Answers

All 25 Replies

5 and 1/2 years old sounds like it could be a pentium 2 possibly a pentium 3. I have no experience with AMD so if its AMD i'm not sure what it would be. But depending on much RAM (random access memory) and hard drive space you have I'd go out and buy a copy of XP and install it. XP would run nicely on a Pentium 3. the oldest machine I have put XP on is a Pentium 2 333mhz with 128 megs of ram. It runs great and fast. Its much more stable then 98. Format the drive again, repartion it, and re-install windows. let me know how you make out.

Not the AMD it's the operating system so buggy so old your trying to run news things on it. Dude spend $500 on a new PC or upgrade your OS to WinNT/2000 or XP. Seriously it is time.

I recently formatted my PC, loaded Windows 98SE and now the pc is so slow that it is virtually unuasable. If I click on START, for instance, it takes about 30 seconds for the PC to act on the click. I have to assume it is a hardware problem. The PC is about 5 ½ years old. Any suggestions would be

Jeez you might be right I don't know what to tell you let me the people say what they think I all ready gave you my two cents.

If your system is now slower than it was before it's quite possible you've neglected to load the device drivers it needs.

How much memory and how much disk space is in the system? C'mon, guys... 98SE is not that buggy :rolleyes:

How much memory and how much disk space is in the system? C'mon, guys... 98SE is not that buggy :rolleyes: