My emachines W2888 is, um... dead. I woke up this morning and it was off. It will not turn on at all and does not make any noise. I did all the dummy procedures such as checking outlets and making sure power is available. It has that lovely burned eletctronics smell when I smelled the vents in the back. I am no computer expert, but I would assume this is the result of a burned out power supply?

If so, is it hard to change it yourself and do you have to re-install software or anything like that?

If it is not the power supply, what could it be?

Thanks!!!

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

It's safe to say that it is the power supply and no it is not hard to replace.

There should be ~4 screws in the back holding it to your case. If you remove these you'll be able to just take it right out. (unplug it from your wall first, and then unplug it from all of your devices - motherboard, cd/dvd drives, floppy, hard drive, etc) When you get the new one you can just put it right where the old one was. if you need help selecting one, usually a technician can be helpful in choosing one with enough power and the right size for you. (sizes are pretty standard though) Do not go for anything that expensive unless your computer is like a slick gaming rig. Mine is a rosewill 550 watt that has been running nearly nonstop for a few months now, and it has not hiccuped (at about 55 USD).

When you get it screwed into place, just replace all the power connectors. Straightforward as that my friend.

I found this on ebay:

Power Supply

Would this be adequate or is it cheap for a reason?

Thanks for your fast reply!

I would say that it IS cheap for a reason (I've never heard of that company except that they made my dvi cable for my monitor.

If you have some more money you could try newegg.com and go for something between 20-50 bucks.