I just installed Linux ( Ubuntu ) in my pc which is not connected to internet. So i obviously cant use software center to install softwares. I downloaded software packages of .tar.gz and .tar.xz format but i don't know how to install them. So can anyone out there can help me please?

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

For Ubuntu, you want to download packages in .deb format, not in tar.gz or similar formats. You can use apt-get/aptitude to install packages in .deb format that you have on your computer without it being connected to the internet, unless there are missing dependencies, in which case you will need those packages (.deb files) as well.

Most of the time, packages in .gz or other compressed tar images are source code packages that you will have to configure and build with the gcc or other compilers. I don't recommend this for a new Linux user. I do it myself, but then I am a professional software developer with over 30 years experience, most of it in the unix/linux domains.

I have the same problem installing OpenSUSE RPM's. I have downloaded some for testing and they have failed to install...Msg: 'Not RPM repository'. How do I get aroung this vexing issue without resorting to source compilation?

Newbie Chameleon

What command did you use to try and install them (and include all options)?

@All, I'm on a Windows 7 / OpenSuse 12.2 dual boot. I'm trying to install audio/Dvd codecs for vlc, Kaffeine, Amorak etc but am getting lots of dependencies which I can't seem to resolve using RPM find. I'd now like to use the source files to get this thorn out'a my flesh. The question is how do I go about this using the command line after having dowloaded the source archives. By the way I used Windows to download the archives then copied them over to my Linux partition. I've noticed a lot of *.dll files when I checked the ToC for Archive. Is this an issue? MayDay!

@NewbieChameleon