I have an old system with P4 processor, 1.12gb ram, 40 gb hdd (of which maybe 10 gb is in bad sectors) which was running Windows XP. I wanted to experiment with it. So, I installed Ubuntu 13.04 on it and completely removed windows xp. According to the system requirements page of Ubuntu, I gather it must be able to work perfectly well.

It installed without problems. When I try to boot the pc, I get an error like this

error:attempt to read or write outside of disk hd0
grub rescue>

Please help. I am a complete beginner with Ubuntu. Thanks in advance!

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Sounds like a partitioning problem...
I googled your error message and someone said that this solved their problem.

The bad sectors is most likely to be the cause. You need to replace that hard drive.

I'll try @Assembly GUy's link. @Rik from RCE, its an old system which I wont be working on regularly. So, replacing the hard drive is not my option. I guess I'll figure out the instructions in the link and try to get Ubuntu running.

try reinstalling again. And this time wait for it to fully install.

I reinstalled the OS this time with a partition of 10 gb and finally got Ubuntu running. After I login with my password which I set during the installation, the screen is totally blank with only the background and on right clicking I get several options like new folder and new document etc... So, I googled and found this link. I will try the steps there.