I am new to linux and I just installed ubuntu on my hp dv6000t laptop. I try to download the nvidia-glx but when I try to install it with the command "sudo nvidia-glx-config enable" command it returns the following:

Error: unable to load nvidia kernel driver! Be sure to have installed
the nvidia driver for your running kernel.

I checked to see if i had the right kernel but i did. Can someone help me?

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Did you try googling it?

First hit:
http://home.comcast.net/~andrex/Debian-nVidia/installation.html

The nVidia driver consists of two parts: a kernel module, and a collection of user-space libraries. The libraries [are] packaged for Debian in the nvidia-glx package. The kernel module is distributed in source form and packaged for Debian in the nvidia-kernel-source and nvidia-kernel-common packages.

Basically you've got the libraries, but lack the kernel module, which is eventually loaded up after the kernel is booted. I suggest following the guide, because it describes everything in great detail, and Ubuntu is based off of Debian, so the instructions will work.

I checked my packages under synaptic and It says that I already have the
"nvidia-kernel-common." Does this mean I do not need to build another kernel?

Follow the instructions. I repeat, follow the instructions.

First of all the article recommends finding out if you've got a stock or a custom kernel. Do that, although I'm nearly 100% sure that you've got a stock kernel.

Then it tells you to find out which distro to choose from ("testing" or "unstable"). Find it out, and set the variables.

Thirdly I recommend you use module-assistant to build your modules. It's explained very well if you click on the link to uncollapse the text under "module assistant".