I want to completely erase all data using DBAN. I have a few questions about how I should go about reinstalling Windows afterwards:

1. Will Windows installer start as usuall - that is just by insterting the CD?

2. Can BIOS be accessed after the process?
(I'll be using a floppy disk to run DBAN. Since they say that the BIOS should be set to boot from the floppy drive first, before starting DBAN, I wondered whether it is possible to access BIOS again after the process to set the boot order to boot from the CD-rom first?)

I have reinstalled Windows XP many times, but I've never done this before, so I am a bit nervous. Hope that you tech guys can help me.

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

I want to completely erase all data using DBAN. I have a few questions about how I should go about reinstalling Windows afterwards:

1. Will Windows installer start as usuall - that is just by insterting the CD?
Yes, as long as the bios is set to boot from the cd first. and you have a bootable CD
2. Can BIOS be accessed after the process?
Yes the bios can be access after the wipe. the bios is not stored on the area to be wipe
(I'll be using a floppy disk to run DBAN. Since they say that the BIOS should be set to boot from the floppy drive first, before starting DBAN, I wondered whether it is possible to access BIOS again after the process to set the boot order to boot from the CD-rom first?) after the wipe change the bios back to boot from the cd first.

I have reinstalled Windows XP many times, but I've never done this before, so I am a bit nervous. Hope that you tech guys can help me.

to be honest you don't need to use Dban to wipe the disk, when you run windows setup it will detect the partitions on you pc. the best thing to do is delete the partition then create a new one then format all this can be done in widows setup.
Dban is mainly when you want to throw out a old pc or give it to some one and you want to make sure that all data is deleted first.