I have windows98 plus. My computer has 2 usb ports but I can't find the drivers on my 98 disc or by going on line. I bought a Labtec web cam and when I try to install it I get can not find usb. Can someone tell me in simple terms how to find and download the drivers on my computer for my usb ports. I am not very good with computers so I need it to be explained very simply. I am learning but am still computer illiterate. If anyone can help I would most greatful. I have a web cam but can't use it. Thank you. :)

Recommended Answers

All 16 Replies

Pigkisser, can you give a more detailed specs of your computer. Is it an old computer? is the USB port an expansion or is it built into the motherboard. Models and brands can be of great help too. Maybe we can help you look for the driver online.

oalee: Thank you for trying to help me. I am not very smart about my puter so please be patient.
Ok, I have a rebuilt puter. It has 160MB of Ram, System Resources 54% free, File System 32 bit, Virtual Mem. 32 bit. I have 2 hard drives. My usb's are built in to the mother board.I have windows98SE and 98plus. I don't know what else you need to know so ask me questions and tell me where to find the answers and I will do my best to tell you all you need to know. I just want to be able to use my web cam. I have 2 usb ports.
Nancy

Hello...

I'm just going to take a stab at this. Since there is no generic USB driver for motherboard controllers (at least for older OSes) that I know of, I would suggest taking a look at the markings on the board and looking for a model number (another way would be to look at the startup and check out the make and model of the board). A quick trip to the manufacturers website should yield the driver set for either the whole board or just the USB (different manufacturers approach things differently). At that point, it's an installation away from done.

:mrgreen:

startup and check out the make and model of the board).