Hello,newbie here.I can't seem to open IE unless I use a browser shell(4C vision) on top of it. I receive the msg." IE is not a valid Win32 application".I sometimes get this with other programs also.
My sys. is a Pent.3/700 mhz.,64mb.My browser is IE6,Win.98.
Also,is there a browser I could use that is self contained and doesn't need IE or Netscape to access the web? I recently installed Opera,OffByOne and 4C Vision to try. I want to uninstall IE and it's plugins completely.
Appreciate the help.

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Edit:Posted about the same time ,good Morning Mad-dog
Give this one atry ,one of the best alternatives out there !
http://www.mozilla.org

and of course the broswer version only of mozilla FireFox

Yeah ,when I use it, I use Firefox.

Thanks people! I was planning on trying out Mozilla and K-Melon also.I actually would still like to know though what the " not a valid Win32 app." means, and is Mozilla/Opera self contained browsers without Net/IE needed to run them. I really wanna dump IE as it's slow n annoys the hell outta me .I'm not very pc educated yet,as I've had this pc for a year. Thanks a bunch man!

Mozilla, Netscape, FireFox, Opera, etc. are all stand alone, fully functioning browser; they have no interaction or dependence on IE. This is generally considered a Good Thing- those browser are not an integral part of the OS (IE is), so they present less of security risk in terms of viruses, spyware, and the like.

The error message you're getting could simply be due to a corruption of IE, or perhaps the result of a malicious program that got into your system. Under your "Start" menu, try typing "iexplore" (omit the quotes) in the "Run..." dialog box- does IE start that way?