1,105,578 Community Members

Ethernet and token ring question

Member Avatar
silvercats
Posting Pro in Training
429 posts since Apr 2011
Reputation Points: 10 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 3 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

1.Are the token rings same as star topology?
2. what is the big difference between Ethernet and token ring?
3.are these two(ethernet ,token ring) capable of trnamitting data at the same time?
thanks

Member Avatar
JorgeM
IT Addict
6,416 posts since Dec 2011
Reputation Points: 581 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 963 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 172 [?]
Moderator
Featured
Sponsor
 
1
 

First, when talking about topology, there is a physical and logical topology. With regard to Token Ring (which is not really seen anymore on modern networks), is generally a star topology for the physical layout, but a ring topolocy for the logical layout.

Ethernet and Token Ring are different layer 2 protocols. They are not compatible with each other. A computer with an ethernet NIC could not directly communicate with a computer that has a token ring NIC. You would have to have a gateway (router) in between these computers that has an ethernet and token ring interface. The gateway would be responsible for translating between the two.

3) No, because you would have these two types of nodes on the same physical link. In the case of a token ring network, two token ring devices would not be able to communicate at the same time. The host that holds the "token" is the one that can access the network. The token is passed from host to host. In another thread you had, you asked about ethernet and the concept of CSMA-CD was brought up. In token ring, you do not require CSMA-CD because there are no collisions in token ring. There are no collisions, because you cannot access the network unless you have the token. Only one host can have the token at one time.

Member Avatar
silvercats
Posting Pro in Training
429 posts since Apr 2011
Reputation Points: 10 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 3 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

Ethernet can transmit at the same time,right?
Some old books says it can't as I remeber . But I remeber practically exchanging data between multiple computers at the same time on the sam LAN

Member Avatar
JorgeM
IT Addict
6,416 posts since Dec 2011
Reputation Points: 581 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 963 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 172 [?]
Moderator
Featured
Sponsor
 
1
 

Two Ethernet nodes cannot transmit at the same time. If they do, there will be a collision. Fast Ethernet took care of this issues. Ethernet went from using two wires to now using four so nodes can transmit and receive at the same time. If you have an Ethernet network using Cat5 cabling and switches with 100mb Nics, you are running a Fast Ethernet network.

Member Avatar
silvercats
Posting Pro in Training
429 posts since Apr 2011
Reputation Points: 10 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 3 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

oh right. thanks !

Question Answered as of 1 Year Ago by JorgeM
Member Avatar
caroline nasiru
Newbie Poster
1 post since Oct 2012
Reputation Points: 0 [?]
Q&As Helped to Solve: 0 [?]
Skill Endorsements: 0 [?]
 
0
 

hey guys i need ur thoughts on these questions plse at ur earliest convenience...am really time pressed...
Suppose a bridge connects an 802.3 (Ethernet) LANs to an 802.5 (Token Ring) LAN If the bridge forwards a frame from the Ethernet to the Token Ring, answer the following questions?

a) Does the bridge have to reformat the frame?
b) Does the bridge need to recalculate the value of the CRC field?
c) Does the bit order need to be reserved?
d) How is the priority bit for the Token Ring set?
e) If a bridge sends data from a Token Ring network to an Ethernet network how is the collision handled by the bridge?
f) If a bridge sends data from an Ethernet network to a Token Ring network how is the collision handled by the bridge?

  1. A company wishes to connect two building, and a local cabling contractor has advised that this would be best achieved with a UTP cable connecting the two backbone hubs. The distance has been carefully measured, and is 95m. the IT manager is concerned that linking the two building will make the network run slower, although the contractor claims this will make no difference. What do you think? How should the two buildings be linked? What are the implications?
You
This question has already been solved: Start a new discussion instead
Post:
Start New Discussion
Tags Related to this Article