I have a simple Linksys router for my home (2.4 GHZ, 54Mbpms, Model WRT54G) however at no point during the set up did it ask me to set a password. My laptop is a mac from work and it automatically retreives the signal. Any idea on how I can password protect my system?
As you can tell - I'm not too familiar with this world. Any help is appreciated.

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

I have a simple Linksys router for my home (2.4 GHZ, 54Mbpms, Model WRT54G) however at no point during the set up did it ask me to set a password. My laptop is a mac from work and it automatically retreives the signal. Any idea on how I can password protect my system?
As you can tell - I'm not too familiar with this world. Any help is appreciated.

Screenshot of Linksys router (go to the password tab):

I'm new at this so I appreciate your patience with my questions. I've read other postings regarding this issue but have not been able to find a solution yet.

I have a Linksys Wireless Router (2.4 GHz, 54Mbps, model WRT54G). During installation, my mac (it's from work but I also use it at home) found the signal and just started working. It has never asked me for a password and I can't seem to find where I can change the name of the network (right now it is "linksys" which I know is not safe).

Help?

I'm new at this so I appreciate your patience with my questions. I've read other postings regarding this issue but have not been able to find a solution yet.

I have a Linksys Wireless Router (2.4 GHz, 54Mbps, model WRT54G). During installation, my mac (it's from work but I also use it at home) found the signal and just started working. It has never asked me for a password and I can't seem to find where I can change the name of the network (right now it is "linksys" which I know is not safe).

Help?