Hey, im Keith and im 15 years old. I like computers alot and im pretty good at making websites, so this year i signed up for computer science. Our teacher is teaching us how to wrote programs using C++ and i love it, but i was wondering, why are they teaching us C++ when Java is alot more powerful and you can do alot more with it? Please correct me if im wrong, im new to the code language world :D.
Also, i was wondering if you can make cool graphics programs with C++ or only crappy triangles like we are learning? ( :-| )

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Greetings kppowell,

I'm glad you have asked this question. Here is a detailed explanation between the differences of the two languages:

Differences between C++ and Java
Although the Java language is modeled on C++, it has several fundamental differences. It is important to keep in mind (for now) one fact: Java was designed to allow portable applications to be safely downloaded over a network. In its current form, it is not designed to replace C or C++ as a systems programming language. (this will not be true pretty soon).

There are a number of C++ features that Java does not support. Perhaps the single biggest difference between Java and C++ is that Java does not support pointers. In C++, pointer is one of C++ most important language features. It is also one of the most dangerous if used improperly. Pointers don't exist in Java for two reasons. First, pointers are inherently insecure. For example, using a C++ pointer, it is possible to gain access to memory addresses outside a program's code and data. Second, the designer of Java probably think that they were too troublesome. Since pointers don't exist in Java, neither does the -> operator.

Some key points

• Java does not include structures or unions. These were felt to be redundant since the class encapsulates them.
  • Java does not support operator overloading as does C++.
  • C++ includes a preprocessor or support the preprocessor directives