Hi,
I want to use database in my Project.I'm new to it too.
I'm doing project in C#,Visual Studio 2005,Compact Framework 2.0 and for WinCE.Plz. do help.I want an open source DB please.
Help Me.Tell me how to create a Database from the scratch or attach any link which describes that.Thanks in Advance.

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

You can use SQL Server Compact edition, but I don't know if there's open source RDBMS for smart phones or not.

Hi,
Thanks peter_budo and RamyMahrous.But i would like to know one thing first.This should be free while development and while making the software as a product i.e while distributing the my software which will be using this Database.And i donot need much functionality in the DBMS i.e. only create database tables(no relation b/w those is reqd.) and access through the code and maintain it.And where can i get the materials for accessing the database tables only using the code and not any GUI as such.And what is SQL Compact Edition(Microsoft SQL Server 2005 Compact Edition : 3.1) and is it free.Thanks in Advance.

First, there are no free databases for WinCE other than ADOCE and the CDatabase class that is supplied with the C++ compiler. I don't know if you can access that class with C# or not.

The next best thing for you to do is just write your own simple database, which is what I did a few years ago. Its not all that difficult to do.

I don't know about prices you can see EULA of each of which; SQL Server Compact edition shipped with SQL Server 2005 and you can install it alone. you can develop your application using VS and integrate with it.

Thanks RamyMahrous and Ancient Dragon.

To RamyMahrous :