Hello, I'm new in Java programming, just learning it and I want to ask you about the Exceptions. As much as I understood, I just need to create a class e.g. "MyException" that extends the Exception class, and use the exception specification "throws" in the function that might throw the particular exception, and after that throw the exception inside the function. I also read about " try" and "catch ", but what I can't get clear in my mind is the following: Do I need to write in the class "MyException" that e.g. if something doesn't happen, only then throw the exception... or the compiler will know when to throw the exception... I really don't get it. If I don't want the user to be able to insert integers in the file, just String, do I specify this somewhere, or just write "try" and "catch(Exception e)" ?

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

An important thing to understand is that there are two types of exceptions:

• checked exceptions, which are thrown when your code (or some code in the Java libraries) explicitly throws them; in this case, methods that throw such exceptions must be declared as throwing them, and code that calls such methods is forced to deal with the exception in some way (either with a try/catch block, or by "throwing it up")
  • unchecked exceptions are special exceptions, such as IndexOutOfBoundsException, NullPointerException that don't need to be explicitly handled (you've probably seen that if part of your code accidentally has a null pointer, the exception "automatically" gets printed out without you having to catch it) -- what happens here is that something called the "default uncaught exception handler" takes care of it