Hi all, my name is Karim, and I am migrating from Python to C++ in order to make windows and linux based games. I am using the Visual C++ IDE, and am a complete newbie when it comes to C/C++. Python is so overly simplified that it does not provide a great background when learning C/C++. Well, with my goals in mind, could anyone point me to some *free* online resources for learning to program in C++? Thank you.

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

I would recommend the book "Accelerated C++", by Koenig & Moo.

You'll note that the Daniweb rules state some prohibitions, including "do not post anything warez related or related to other illegal acts."

This means that, for example, if there existed tools out in the world that made it trivial for you to download any popular textbook you wanted, I wouldn't be allowed to tell you what those tools were. If they existed. And I'm not saying that they do.

I know that this doeson't go with your *free* standards, but if you'r wi;lling to spend 25$ at borders or find it cheaper on Amazon of Ebay, I would HIGHLY reccomend C++ for Dummies. I'm still reading throug it and it is great. Its funny sometimes to :D

I would recommend a site 3Dbuzz , it has some nice video tutorials, fun to watch, and covers the very basics of C++. If you find the resolution a bit low, you could try to find it in some torrent sites.

yeah, I'm Python guy too, and I'm learning C++ too. I want to add it than shift from python.
Having those said, till now I have found too many programming sites but check www.cprogramming.com

I have some books but I have so limited time that I learn too slowly

Microsoft have free PDF of the book, by someone Schildt if I have spelled well, I have no time to search for link right now, but it is somewhere in their VC 2008 IDE section (Express edition)