Hello, I have just started learning Python.

Please can you tell me if there is a way to read in a file one bit or byte at a time (i.e. in binary).

Thank you!

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

If you have Python three, then this is easy:

with open(filename, "rb") as fh:
    b = True
    while b:
        b = fh.read(1)
        #...do something with b

Thank you, however I'm using Python 2.6.1... is there a different way to do it using that?

Thank you, however I'm using Python 2.6.1... is there a different way to do it using that?

Maybe try this.. pretty much same principal as 3.0 :

fh = open('myfile.txt', 'rb')
while True:
    try:
        fh.read(1)
    except:
        pass

To be more specific, I want to read in a bit at a time from a file, and add each individual bit to a list. Can you help with this? (sorry, I am a complete beginner!)

Here's how to add items to a list:

>>> bits_list = []
>>> bits_list.append('0')
>>> bits_list.append('1')
>>> bits_list.append('1')
>>> bits_list
['0', '1', '1']
>>>

Yeah, that's what I thought. But this is the code I have - it does not seem to work, just prints out a blank line in the shell then RESTART. And then the whole shell/IDLE seemed to crash when I closed them.

The file I'm trying to read one bit at a time from is an encrypted jpeg. This is the code I have:

encrypted = []

fh = open('encjpgfile', 'rb')

while True:
    try:
        bit = fh.read(1)
        #print bit
        encrypted.append(bit)
    except:
        pass

print encrypted

sys.exit(0)

Yes well, I forgot that read() does not raise a stop iteration when used in the manner that it is being used here... so the try-except case never gets thrown and we're stuck in an infinite loop.

You can do something like, if bit == '': break

that works great, thank you! Only thing is, when I print out the 'encrypted' list, it's full of characters like '\x0e', '\xc4' etc etc... not the 1s and 0s I want, how do I get it to do this?