Hi,
I have to read and store 70 millions of Double objects in a Vector. The problem is that it seems that Java will allocate 40 bytes of memory for each Double object and the memory amount we need to store such number of Doubles object is approximately 2.8 GB. It is very strange that a simple object like Double cost 40 bytes of memory. I am new in Java, before I have never faced the same issue with C++. Could you please let me know how large is the size of an object in Java?

best regards,

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

If memory usage is a big issue in your app you should use an array of double primitives, not a Vector of Double Objects. doubles in an array occupy 64 bits each.

@ Lamthuy

70 millions ... never faced the same issue with C++

but then you have to pretty sure that you lost part of Object, because memory requirements are similair for lots of PL, and in C++ is double is always 8 bytes (64 bits)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Double_precision_floating-point_format

Thank you for quick replies. My work always requires big amount of data, 70 millions is just part of the dataset that I am currently working with. Sometime I need to store the data in some other containers like LinkedList, HashMap so the solution with array of double maybe not applicable. I wonder if in Java they allow to store a double instead of an object of Double in the forgoing containers. I have tried but it didn't allow to do that. Is there any hint for this situation? Or do I need to switch back to C++?

that's why database Engine(s) exists