Hello All,
I am very new to C programming but i was working on cryptography for ipsec and am trying to write a code for implementing a simple code for a stream cipher which will take a 20 charecter long string and a 8 bit seed file and encrypt the text by performing a bit by bit xor operation on the string by generating a random number with same length as text using the seed string.
I know i made some big mistakes but i dont see any compilation errors but i get a runtime error and it just prints the charecters in printf but never accepts any value.
Could anyone kindly help me on this or correct me.
Any help would be much appreciated.Below is the code i have come up with.Again i want to stress i am very new to C

#include<stdio.h>
#include<string.h>
int main()
{
  char string[20];
  char key[8];
  char cout;
  char random[20];
  int i;
  int j;
  j=strlen(string);
  printf("enter the cipher text");
scanf("%c",&string); 
printf("enter the seed value");
scanf("%c",&key);
random[20]=srand(key);   
  for(i=0; i<=j; i++)
  {
    string[i]=string[i]^random[i];
    cout=string;
  }
  printf("ciphertext is &s",cout);

}

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

You will get a much better response if you improve your questions. Here is how you can improve your questions:

1) Show us the code. You already do this. Good.
2) Tell us exactly what input you type in.
3) Tell us what you saw happen, and what you think should have happened.

I note that you are trying to get the length of string before the user has typed anything in. That doesn't seem sensible.

I note also that you are trying to set an array to the returned value from srand;
random[20]=srand(key);

Tell me, what kind of object does srand return? Also, what do you think srand actually does? I will tell you that it does NOT generate random numbers.

cout=string; Given that cout is a single char and string is an array of char, what do you expect this to do?