Hi,
I am pretty new to C/C++, and would like some tips on writing the code fo my first 'try' I am trying to write a programme that marks exams and such and calculates grades. I am not looking for somebody to write it for me, well if you want to, haha, but just maybe a point in the right direction, or a few snippits of code to help me along the way. I have a personal tutor who set me this task, and told me to get help where needed, as i want to go into a new career, and want to learn quickly, so your help would be much appreciated. there is a scenario;

Exam and coursework components of the assessment carry a maximum of 50 marks. Pass or fail are determined by:

Combined component total of 40% or more in order to Pass.

Minimum for each component is 15% pass

39% is moderated to 40% and a ‘Moderated Pass’ is awarded.

40% or more overall but minimum component mark not achieved ‘Technical Fai’l of 39% (which is NOT moderated to 40%);

Grades are awarded on marks that fall into the following categories:
Mark - 100-70 69-50 49-40 38-0
Grade - A B C Fail

Thanks in advance for the help.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Which language are you learning, C or C++? (The two languages are very different) and how far have you managed to get with the problem? you're likely to get more useful feedback if you post your attempt at a solution so far.

One way to begin with a task like this is break everything down is to bite-sized pieces. Often it helps to write some kind of informal pseudocode. (If not in a text editor, then on a sheet of paper)

certain parts of the problem should be very straightforward, such as converting a number of marks out of 50 into a percentage.