I'm new to C++ graphics, and a friend tipped me off to OpenGL. I'm currently trying to work with the GL Utility Toolkit ( #include gl\glut.h ), which I had to download from the web. Due to all the download sites being intended for people with older versions of Windows (I think), I had to install the *.h, *.o, and *.dll files by hand, but going with the locations specified by the readme that came with the download (from http://www.xmission.com/~nate/glut.html).
However, whenever I try to work with glut.h, I get a cartload of linker errors that yell at me about an undefined reference for any number of functions. Sample: " [Linker error] undefined reference to `__glutInitWithExit@12' ". I am using Bloodshed Dev-C++ version 4.9.9.2.
Please help!!!

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

I just downloaded the source and compiled with VC++ 2005 Express with no problems using the project that was supplied with the source code. Is it the GLUT source code that you compiled or some file that you wrote?

>>I had to install the *.h, *.o, and *.dll files by hand, but going with the locations specified by the readme that came with the dow
What readme file ? There are several of them. You can put the .DLL anyplace you want as long it is in one of the directories in the PATH statement. The *.h and *.lib files can be anywhere you want, you just have to tell your compiler where to put them if not in one of the standard include directories.

Sorry, Ancient Dragon. Its the readme-win32 file in the "glut-3.7.6-bin.zip" link. Do you have any idea what causes that type of linker error? Thanks!

Those errors mean you did not add the glut32.lib to your project. If you have added it but still get the errors post your program and I'll give it a try.

I'm not as good with software as I'd like to think I am. Where does the glut32.lib file go? I can't find any .lib files to go by on my hard drive except for in my JAVA stuff.