Hi all,

I am new to asp.net programming and i am using asp.net calender control
the code tht i am using is

Protected Sub btn_dob_Click(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles btn_dob.Click
        Try
            If (txt_dob.Text.Trim() IsNot DBNull.Value) Then
     Calender2.SelectedDate = Convert.ToDateTime(txt_dob.Text)
            End If
        Catch ex As Exception
        End Try
        Calender2.Visible = True
    End Sub

I am using the following code at calender selection changed event

txt_dob.Text = Calender2.SelectedDate.ToString()
 Calender2.Visible = False

I am getting the problem at Calender2.visible= true
as an exception like use new keyword at Calender2 but i have declared tht control earlier

any help is greatly appreciated.

thanks in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

As long as you have the calendar control in place you shouldn't need to declare it. Daft question, are you using the same spelling; reason for asking is that you have called it calender2, but the correct spelling would be calendar2. A common mistake is to allow Visual Web Developer (or whatever tool you are using) assign a name, and then you mis-spell it (I daren't count the hours I have spent looking for an error only to find its a typo!)

This code works (obviously don't know whether it is at all what you are wanting to do, but does demonstrate a working framework):

<%@ Page Language="VB" %>

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">

<script runat="server">
    Protected Sub btn_dob_Click(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles btn_dob.Click
        Try
            If (txt_dob.Text.Trim() IsNot DBNull.Value) Then
                Calender2.SelectedDate = Convert.ToDateTime(txt_dob.Text)
            End If
        Catch ex As Exception
        End Try
        Calender2.Visible = True
    End Sub