Hai group,

im a newbie in HTML,CSS,JAVASCRIPT..
I was involved in dev of a prototype using the above 3...
everything went fine...but the pending requirement is ..
when we right click on a row in table in a prototype, we have coded such that a context menu appears..its working fine..but if we click on empty space in the html prototype, we r getting the default context menu which we dont want...

could any one of u can help me plzzzzzzz

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

I think you'll have to code to the Event object, which has cross-browser issues. But the Event object is created when any event occurs, and you might be able to tell if a click was a left or a right click and code accordingly. So my first thought would be to research the JavaScript "Event" object.

Wait... I know IE provides an "oncontextmenu" event handler. I'm not sure about FireFox.

You could code that in the body, as so:

<body oncontextmenu="return false;">

However, this is where I make my standard plea/warning: users expect that when they right-click, they get a context menu. I, for example, routinely use it to access "back". It's faster than mousing up to the top of the browser. Disabling or co-opting features that users have come to expect violates a basic application design principle, and should be avoided, in my opinion.

So unless you have a very compelling reason for doing this, I would suggest that you leave it alone.

Wait... I know IE provides an "oncontextmenu" event handler. I'm not sure about FireFox.

You could code that in the body, as so:

<body oncontextmenu="return false;">

However, this is where I make my standard plea/warning: users expect that when they right-click, they get a context menu. I, for example, routinely use it to access "back". It's faster than mousing up to the top of the browser. Disabling or co-opting features that users have come to expect violates a basic application design principle, and should be avoided, in my opinion.