Greetings everyone!!
First of all, I'm a python newbie; my apology in advance if I'm being silly with my question but I really hope some one can help me on this.
I got myself a project (just to start) to read iTunes library .xml file - iTunes Music Library.xml - and create the file system/directory structure reading the id3-meta tag information in this format: /genre/artist/album". The last bit - i.e. "album" - is the symbolic link to the album directory at the original iTunes location. Here is my problem to convert the html/xml character references (like & or %20 etc.) to plain text and I'm getting the error when the string contains stuff like ""%CC%81" ( i.e. é ) or %CC%88 ( i.e. ï ). Rest of the things are okay so far. The error is like this:

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Traceback (most recent call last):
 File "./metadata.py", line 153, in <module>
   artist_dir = "%s/%s" % (media_dir, mn)
UnicodeDecodeError: 'ascii' codec can't decode byte 0xc3 in position 6: ordinal not in range(128)
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

After a bit more digging, I think, I know why I get this error but I'm not that expert to figure out a solution. Python, by default, uses the ASCII, hence characters with an ASCII value > 127 (as ASCII only defined numeric values from 0 to 127) in the input data, generates UnicodeDecodeError as, that character can't be handled by the ASCII encoding. This error can be easily reproduced like this:

>>> unicode('abcdef' + chr(127))
u'abcdef\x7f'
>>> unicode('abcdef' + chr(128))
  File "<stdin>", line 1, in <module>
UnicodeDecodeError: 'ascii' codec can't decode byte 0x80 in position 6: ordinal not in range(128)
>>>

In fact, anything, which is "accented" throws this error in:

>>> unicode('abc©')
UnicodeDecodeError: 'ascii' codec can't decode byte 0xc2 in position 3: ordinal not in range(128)
>>> unicode(u'abc©')
u'abc\xa9'
>>>