Hello, everyone! (1st post ;-)

Background: I have been an independent computer technician, working out of my bedroom, since about 2003. The business started out pretty good to begin with, but things started slowing down around 2006. Since then, I have been working on an electronics technician "degree" at a local technical college. I got accepted to an internship that alternates between 6 months at work and 6 months at school. I started working last August. Since that time I have worked on very few computers at my house.

I'm sure you other technicians have seen how dusty a computer can get after several years of build-up. A lot of my customers were ignorant home users that didn't know their computers were dust magnets. I had always suspected that exposure to all that dust (and whatever else is in it) was causing me to have minor but prolonged sinus problems. Well after many months without a foreign computer in my house, I brought 2 computers home to do backups and re-installs. One was dusty and the other was VERY dusty. I cleaned the comps outside (as always) with canned air before I brought them in to work on them. A couple of days afterward, my nose started running and I was sneezing constantly. Thankfully, that has finally passed after 2 days.

My brother is also a comp tech working for a small business (~50 computers). I was talking to my sister-in-law about my sinus problems and she said my brother also seemed to have recurring sinus issues.

My question is, have any of you other techs had similar experiences with sinus problems related to dusty computers?

Thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies