Hello, I am a senior in highschool and i must make up my mind what i want to do in life, im leaning towards computers, or music, computers being the more financially sound I am interested in computer engineering. I have taken computer science for 2 years, but i did not like it. So now i am studying up on computer engineering, i havent found much information on it yet and i was just wondering what that title entails. I like to physically put things together and take them apart to see how it works, and im trying to find out about how the computer works with all its hardware and I hope this site can offer that, I am sure it can. Thanks alot. Maybe yall can suggest a site where it explains all the computer hardware in depth.

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Computer engineering doesn't really deal much with computer hardware (i.e. motherboards, processors, etc.). It is more of a cross between electrical engineering and computer science. Be prepared for a lot of discrete math and digital circuitry. If you're an electronics freak, go for it :)

Well who are the guys who actually put the comp together? or at least design the insides and such, something that deals with putting the hardware together, that is for me.

electronic engineering deals a lot with hardware.. but more circuits, so its physical but not as I assume you want to
I'm pretty much sure that you won't like to study such a demanding major studying circuits and waves for then assembling computers as a living

If assembling is your passion then maybe try mechanical engineering. if you like to assembly stuff, if you like more physical oriented problem solving, this may be your major... I'm currently into software engineering but if I ever change I know mechanical is the one :cheesy:

Also, you can always continue to study robotics...lots of assembly (cic?) in there, machinery design, etc

check this out this site...
http://www.engineergirl.org/nae/cwe/egcars.nsf/Web+-+Career+Lookup/CGMH-4TN38B?opendocument