Hi. I am a college student and I am in my third year of college. I have an associate degree in general science and i am studying to earn my bachelor's degree in Computer Science. I have been trying to get an internship (basically for job security and work experience) for the summer of 2020 but I have been constantly denied an internship position. I am now questioning if I will even get an internship (I have heard about so many people who have done several internships already but I personally know people who- just like myself- can't get even one internship).

I have applied to about 10 internships to places like Lockheed Martin and XPO Logistics just to name a few. In order to get a better chance at having my application reviewed, I asked an advisor at my school to give my an access code to a website called "careershift.com" (it is an access code my university gives). The website has contact information of recruiters. Because of that, i found the email addresss of some recruiters and also emailed them about the internships I have applied to. I got two phone interviews when I did this. It seems that because I had five or six personal projects on my resume, they were willing to give me a chance. However, I still was denied (I didn't think the interview went poorly. I did a mock interview at my school
and they said I did fine. Therefore, I just did the same thing with the phone interview).