Hey I don't want to sound like a total noobie so forgive me but here goes:

I'm really new to this - just installed Mandrake 9.2 a few days ago. So far so good, except I can't seem to change the screen resolution. It defaulted to 1280x1024 and that ran fine, but when i try to change it to a lower res (1024x768, 800x600, 640x480) it doesnt seem to respond. I've tried restarting and whatnot but nothing seems to have changed. I checked the etc/X11/XF86Config-4 file and it reflects the changed resolution i have configured but still no luck. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Desktop or laptop?

Hey I don't want to sound like a total noobie so forgive me but here goes:

I'm really new to this - just installed Mandrake 9.2 a few days ago. So far so good, except I can't seem to change the screen resolution. It defaulted to 1280x1024 and that ran fine, but when i try to change it to a lower res (1024x768, 800x600, 640x480) it doesnt seem to respond. I've tried restarting and whatnot but nothing seems to have changed. I checked the etc/X11/XF86Config-4 file and it reflects the changed resolution i have configured but still no luck. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.