Hello,
I am new to this form so I hope I am in the correct form for asking this question.
I has signed up to do surveys for Microsoft and as a reward for completing a survey they sent me copy Windows XP Pro which I was going to put on my HP computer. I noticed on the box it says for computers running Windows 95 or earlier. Does that mean I can't install it at all? Or do I need to remove Windows ME first then install XP. I have no idea how to remove Windows from a computer or format a hard drive and probably would screw up installing a new version of windows. Any advice on this? I admit I am not computer savy. I was so excited when I got the Windows XP then I seen it was for windows 95 or earlier so now I don't know if I can even use it. Guess I should be happy it was free and I had not bought it *lol*
Thanks for any advise given.
Pamm :confused:

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Pamida, this topic:

http://www.daniweb.com/techtalkforums/thread6632.html

Will link to two articles. Together they'll tell you all you need to know. You'll have to obtain Windows XP device drivers for the components in your HP computer, and you should find them pn the support section of HP's website.

The mention that it's for 'Windows 95 or earlier' simply means that it is a full retail version of Windows XP, rather than an upgrade you need a qualifying product to install.

It'll simply be boot from the CD, remove the existing drive partitions, install. Simple as that. Read the articles ;)

Thanks for your help. I don't have that computer hooked up to the internet right now so I will probably have to hook it up then download the drivers onto floppy since the new computer I have does not have a floppy drive. I am glad I will be able to use the new windows xp thanks again for your help.
Pamm :D