Hi All,

I am new here so please bear with me. I have recently purchased a complete HP workstation with a SATA 500Gig HD containing windows Vista. My intentions was to put my original SATA 160gig HD from my old computer into this and run this HD as the main with windows XP and all my programs which I dont want to lose, and have the 500gig as a slave for storing large videos (I am quite happy to remove all programs from this drive if required).

The problem is I have cabled the drives correctly but the bios does not recognise my 160gig drive and throws me into a loop.

Any help would be appreciated for this complete novice in the back of the box, thanks.

Regards
Media555

Recommended Answers

All 18 Replies

Are you sure it's not reconising it. I think it is more likly that you are trying to run windows set up to run on one set of harware on anouther. The best thing i can suggest is to remove the 500 gb drive, run the windows xp installation cd and do in place upgrade on that drive.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/315341

Hi omol,

Many thanks for your help. I have taken out the 500g hd as suggested and tried booting with the XP disc in drive to the 160 g hd, but after initialising I get an error stating to check for viruses or hardware compatability.

when I have both hd discs wired up, if I direct the 500 gig drive to the SATA 1 on motherboard and the 160 gig to SATA 2 the system fires up ok with the new hard drive (probably set up with factory default) but I don't know how to access the second drive from this.

Obvious if I change the connections around so the 160 is in the SATA 1 connection then I get the bios loop.

Sorry to be so confused over this, althoug I am quite computer savvy to a low level, this is new to me and a little over my head.

many thanks for your help once again.

regards
media555