First, I am a complete novice so please be gentle.
My browser is IE. Operating System XP. ISP BTBroadband

Last week for some reason I was unable to access my hotmail account and messenger. Also I am unable to get into my bank accounts and access my freeserve account - although I can get into freeserve - see my inbox messages but am unable to open them - Page not found comes up. I do not have problems accessing the internet for other sites and can nothing is wrong with my outlook which I have my btinternet emails downloaded into.

I have not changed any of my settings. Although I noticed my browser kept directing me to different searches.

I have run Spybot and X clean which brought up lots of probs which were fixed except for the DSO Exploit 5 entries (which I gather is not a prob just a nuisance) which I get Spybot to fix but it keeps coming back. Am still unable to get into hotmail account - Cannot find server or DSN error Internet Explorer. I have run Spybot updates. I have run windows updates

I have now in desperation downloaded Opera browser which I must say I like. I can now at least get into my hotmail account and my freeserve account. It is also running more quickly. However, I am still unable to access messenger. Says Password User name is incorrect or cant be found. I know I have entered them correctly. I can use it on other pcs connected to the same network. Is MSN messenger dependent on IE and that I cannot access it through my Opera browser? In any case I should at least get the IE prob fixed.