Hi all,

We have a network with a number of Cisco 2950's and a proxy server. There is no router on the network. I want to be able to keep a map of the IP and MAC addresses of all machines that are connected to any of the switches. I also want this to be mapped against the port number on the switch. I need to be able to compare these values to previous values, so that I can see if a MAC address has moved to a different port on the switch, or a MAC has a new IP address.

It thought it should be reasonably simple to write a script to do this. Since I'm not very good at SNMP I took a look at cammer.pl, which gets close to doing what I want. Since we don't have a router, I entered the IP of our proxy server as the router IP. It seems to work, except that I don't get a list of all the machines that are connected to the switch. I get a few, so I'm guessing that I'll only get the ones that happen to be active at that particular time.

I also ran snmpwalk from a terminal, as well as a few snmpgets. I'm getting some of the information I need, but not all.

So my question is this, is there any way of getting a list of switch port #, MAC address and IP address? I was thinking of putting the script up as a cronjob. If it is, could somebody give me an idea of how I get the information? Or is there already some (open source) tool that does exactly this job?

Thanks for any help,
Lorenzo

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

I am a huge fan of solar winds, which admittedly is not freeware and definately overkill but you can get a demo version to try it out.

The total price for the engineer edition is still under a grand so it is fairly easy to expense or budget for most organizations once you see how useful it can be in troubleshooting and monitoring.

In my experience it pays for itself the first time you need it (I have bought several copies for different companies.)

http://www.solarwinds.net/Tools/Engineer/index.htm