I am a confused student who isn't sure what he should or shouldn't take in university. I love programming from what I have done; i know a good portion of php/html/sql/javascript. I really enjoy it more than other stuff like messing around with hardware, networking, security etc.

As of right now I am enrolled at my local university and will start classes in pursuit of my comp sci degree. My main question is will I be happy with a major in programming. My dream involves project managing large projects.

So any opinions/advice/experiences please share them i am eager to find out what other people like myself have done or are doing!

Thanks PO

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Once you get past the size of programs which you can write yourself, there is an awful lot to writing a program which isn't actually writing a program.

Requirements, design, testing, configuration management and all sorts of other skills come into play.

At the very least, your course should have a significant team software project somewhere along the line to test your knowledge of such things.

Hi there PhiberOptik , the important thing to remember is that a degree (at least here in the UK) is really only an "entry ticket" to an entry level software developer/progamming job. To get to the stage where you will be managing projects (i.e. a team leader) and other developers will take time, experience and hard work. Its also worth mentioning that development in a degree/educational environment is vastly different to that in the workplace. If you hand in a project that half works for you degree, you may get a score of 50%, in the real world you get zilch I am afraid. Customers are not interested in software that "half works". Sorry for the lecture (you probably get enough lectures at college/university!) but keep this in mind!