Someone please enlighten me.
I am just beginning to experiment with mysql and php on websites. I just took over a new site that had an exsisting sql file. I need to add a new table to the database and can not figure out how. If I just open the sql file and add the table I can not get it work with my php. I can add enough php for my pages to give me info that it is connecting to the database but then I recieve and error message when it comes to queries.
Please tell me how to actually add the table into the sql file and then get my php to work with it.
I hope I have described my problem in enough detail.
Thanks!

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

First, make sure that the SQL file has statements that read like this:

CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS Example
-- table definition goes here

Then you actually need to run the mysql query by typing the following into a terminal:

mysql DB_Name < script.sql
commented: You solved this post. +2

Post the code and error messages.

Table structure for table `eventStudent`
--

DROP TABLE IF EXISTS `eventStudent`;
CREATE TABLE `eventStudent` (
`idStudent` int(11) NOT NULL auto_increment,
`titleStudent` varchar(128) default NULL,
`descriptionStudent` blob,
`start_monthStudent` int(11) default NULL,
`start_dayStudent` int(11) default NULL,
`start_yearStudent` int(11) default NULL,
`end_monthStudent` int(11) default NULL,
`end_dayStudent` int(11) default NULL,
`end_yearStudent` int(11) default NULL,
`emailStudent` varchar(44) default NULL,
`urlStudent` varchar(128) default NULL,
PRIMARY KEY (`idStudent`)
) ENGINE=MyISAM AUTO_INCREMENT=25 DEFAULT CHARSET=latin1;

--
-- Dumping data for table `eventStudent`
--

LOCK TABLES `eventStudent` WRITE;
UNLOCK TABLES;

This is the code I used to create the table.
if(isset($_POST))
{
include_once('db.php');
include_once('functions_student.php');

$titleStudent = ($_POST);
$descriptionStudent = ($_POST);
$start_monthStudent = (int)$_POST;
$start_dayStudent = (int)$_POST;