I have a few nice ideas for a game that i would like to make, involving some, what i see as, pretty advanced coding requirements.

all i would like is a site with some nice begginer tutorials, i think i can take it from there, also your favorite program or two and language to use...

(you can stop reading now, i tend to ramble...)

Im new to the c++ and c# and other sorts of languages, most of what ive done in the past has been web based, eg java and php.

ive looked around for some tutorials and cant find a lot, really all i need is a 2d environment, laid out kind of like a computer desktop, different functionality in different areas of the screen, maybe some layers for different things, im not looking for someone to guide me through the process, or give me answers, just someone to point me to some tutorials.

I like a tutorial that tells you what to do, i dont need any background information on c++ to use it, just how. i know the general functions strings operators and things of that nature, and i can go into some pretty advanced php and java... but alas, i ramble...

any site would be fine, as long as its to the point. please help.

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

ive looked around for some tutorials and cant find a lot, really all i need is a 2d environment, laid out kind of like a computer desktop, different functionality in different areas of the screen, maybe some layers for different things

Sorry, what exactly do you mean by this segment? This is the sort of thing you're looking to program for the game?..

begginer tutorials that tell you how to make a basic program... that sort of thing.

then by 2d i mean the game is inherently text-based, with pictures and whatnot, but not a 3d application, i would like some ability to click and drag certain aspects of the game, and have them layer if they are on top of each other...