hi, I am a beginner and haven't decided to learn how to program in C or Python. Is there any free tutorials in C that is very good? I can run searches in google but i am not sure what tutorials are good or not good. Another question, later in the future why do i need to start with Python to learn how to build an OS and not start off in pure C? Is Vista a good OS to program on?

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

did you read the Read Me thread at the beginning of this board? If not, then you should.

>> Is there any free tutorials in C that is very good
No. If you are serious about learning the language then buy any of the many books available at your local book store. Yes they are expensive, but worth every penny because they normally cover the language pretty thoroughly and provide lots of examples. Just don't bother with "blabla for Dummies" because they are not for newbes but only cover subjects very briefly.

If your goal is to just learn how to write simple games, then go for the online tutorials. But remember, many of those tutorials are old, obsolete and sometimes just plain wrong.

> hi, I am a beginner and haven't decided to learn how to program in C or Python
If you've never programmed before, go with Python. It's a lot easier to get to grips with, and getting something working.

With regard to books, check this out
http://www.accu.org/index.php/book_reviews?url=view.xqy?subject
Avoid
- books which refer to (or bundled with) specific compilers,
- books whose titles contain references to time,
- books whose titles contain Guru, wizard, dummies or other useless adjectives,
- books which use the unholy trinity of void main, fflush(stdin) or gets(), except in the context of telling you NOT to use those things.

"Become a wizard C programmer in 42 seconds with code musher 4.2" would be a book to avoid!

This is a good tutorial
http://www.eskimo.com/~scs/cclass/notes/top.html
by the same guy who maintains the c.l.c FAQ
http://c-faq.com/