Hi,

I am new to ASP.Net. I would like to know if there is a way by which I can Call a Serverside script through a Javascript. Or else is there a way to Postback a page through a javascript function.

Thanks in advance

Thanks,
NaveenChander

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

I used a query string from Javascript ,something like

Var windid = window.open("default.aspx?frameheight="+mapframeheight+"&framewidth="+mapframewidth+"");

Which sends these values to the server.

Hope it helps.

Hi Mr White Tiger, :-)

Thanks for your quick response.

Yes, this sends information to the server and not the server side script. Actually your code will try to load a new page from the URL specified but does not post back the calling aspx page or invoke an event in the Server side script. This is what I need.

Let me explain you the need (May be this will help you understand the Problem better),

Say you have an E-Mail service like Yahoo and hotmail. When a user logs into his account I will make an entry in the database saying that "User X has logged in will Blah blah ...Time... This can be done through the Page load event.

If another user tries to login to the same E-mail Account. I should be able to throw him out saying "Get out Mr.Y...

The problem that I am currently facing is that... I am not able to keep track of the first user, i.e., if he is still using the window or not. This cannot be done through the server side script because we do not have a page_UnLoad event in Aspx.

Work Around:

I can keep a Log out hyperlink where I can check if the user has logged out or not. But the problem is what if the user closes the window abruptly with out using the Log out Hyperlink (you see there are few stinking users).

Our JavaScript will help us in this issue. It has a unload system function which when declared in the Body tag will be triggered when the page Closes. (This is simply fast)