Greetings All thanks in advance for replying and reading:

I am having difficulties merging two workgroups on 2 seperate networks. I am a newbie to networking, and following is my network setup:

I have a laptop with 2 NIC's. 1 is the builtin NIC and the other is a usb NIC [usb to lan].

(*) My ISP connects directly into the builtin NIC of the laptop. [no cable modem or nothing of that sort. DHCP assigns me my IP ADDRESS]
(*) The 2nd NIC on my laptop connects to a 6 port router. [the internet connection from the first NIC card is shared through the 2nd NIC card]
(*) Router connects to a Desktop.

Both my laptop and desktop are able to share the internet connection this way.

From my Laptop I can view the workgroup that contains all the computers that are connected to the ISP LAN plus the 2ndary Desktop.

However, from the Desktop's workgroup I can only see the Laptop, and not the other PC"s. I would like some help to figure out a way to share the workgroup that MY laptop can see with my desktop

IP address of NIC#1 on Laptop: assisgned by DHCP

IP address of USB NIC#2 on Laptop: 192.168.0.1
-- subnet mask 255.255.255.0
--default gateway left blank.

IP address of NIC on Desktop:assigned by DHCP from router.
-- subnet mask 255.255.255.0
-- default gateway 192.168.0.1

Now before everyone gives me the obvious answer: Connect the ISP to router then connect the computers from the router. Well easier said then done. I lose my electricity about 7 times a day, each time its gone for an hour. this leaves me w/out any internet for 7 hours daily. I cant' afford that. This is why I'm going through my laptop.

I have attached a simple drawing to this post to descibe pictorially what I am doing.

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

battery back up. This will not only keep you from losing power but will keep your IP from changing when you power back up! $50-100.