EDIT* Sorry I didn't mean to add that error message in the topic title.

Hey guys, I'm new to PHP and MYSQL and I have been searching for hours for a way to copy the data from a row in one table (all columns) and insert it into another table (same column names). I've also browsed around Daniweb and haven't found a direct solution for my code. I'm sorry if this has already been posted here.

Here is some of my code
I connect to the first database, get the row and break down the columns into variables. I then close that connection and open another connection on another server and attempt to add those variables to the second database

$con1 = /*connect to server 1*/
$con2 = /*connect to server 2*/

mysql_select_db("database1", $con1) or die(mysql_error());

$result = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM table1 ORDER BY id DESC", $con1);
$row1 = mysql_fetch_array($result);
$row2 = mysql_fetch_array($result);
$row3 = mysql_fetch_array($result);
/*etc...*/

/*after finding the row, break it up*/
$one =  $row3['col1'];
$two =  $row3['col2'];
$three =  $row3['col3'];
/*etc...*/

mysql_close($con1);
mysql_select_db("databse2", $con2) or die(mysql_error());

mysql_query
	("
		INSERT INTO table2 (col1, col2, col3, col4, col5)
		VALUES('$one','$two','$three','$four','$five')
	", $con2)
	or die(mysql_error());

I have an echo setup after the first connection, the second connection, and at the very end that echos all of the variables. They all work and I get no errors, but when I check the second database there is no data. I have tried countless ways of doing this, however, I always run into a problem or error. This is the closest I have gotten to completing the task at hand.

If anyone has some tips or advise, I would greatly appreciate the help. I've read hundreds of forums posts and gone through several options in the manual. maybe I missed something?

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies