Hi..

I'm a beginner and just study programming.

I have to make some random number. I found many solution in this site, but does'nt seem to be like i want.

Please see this screen shot. I have to make some simple program like sudoku game. And must put random number at the beginning of the game. But how to make the random number do not same between each other?

i try using

srand((unsigned) time(0));
int cus_num=rand()%4,

but the random number generated sometime were repeated.

thanks for your help.

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

You could fill each box with unique integers, shuffle them around (while making sure the sudoku is still valid) and then erase a few of the numbers (making sure it's still possible to solve).

There's probably quite a few ways to manage this, and there's plenty of information on the net to help you.

one more thing, i'm not allowed to use array in this project because our lecturer did'nt teach us yet.

so i guess how to solve it by using only basic coding...

You can't use an array for a sudoku program? I would have thought that you would have been taught arrays before being told to make something like this.

Anyway, considering there's only 16 cells in the sudoku, just make 16 integers and continue from there.

It would become quite complex in testing a particular sudoku,for validity without using arrays.So i guess if you are allowed to use string, it would be the appropriate type, though it involves overheads of integer to char conversions.

I certainly hope you don't have an srand before each rand!
Because that's a problem!

srand((unsigned) time(0));  <-- Stick me at top of program ONLY

int cus_num=rand()%4,

What time is it now? What time is it 0.0001 seconds from now? How fast is your computer? 1.8Gig, 2.8Gig?