I want to create a a program in which i enter a word and the program counts the number of alphabets used in the word and display as output !!
I know its simple but i am just a beginner and my teacher wants to submit this as assignment

this is the question
2. A man wanted to enter a club but did not know the password that was required. He waited by the door and listend, a club member knocked on the door, the door man said "twelve" member replied "6" and was let in. Second member came to the door, doorman said "six" the member replied "3" and was let in. now the man throught that he had heard enough and walked up to the door, doorman said "eight" the man replied "4" but he was not let in. What should he say? so that he gets in.

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

and your problem being...?

i have no clue how to do it ??
i only started working a week ago i just know how to introduce integer and if and else and print hello world :p

the program counts the number of alphabets used in the word and display as output !!

I'm guessing that by "the number of alphabets" you mean the number of letters your word has. If I'm guessing wright then use length() method of the String class.
Hava a look at the String class and at the trails.

2. A man wanted to enter a club but did not know the password that was required. He waited by the door and listend, a club member knocked on the door, the door man said "twelve" member replied "6" and was let in. Second member came to the door, doorman said "six" the member replied "3" and was let in. now the man throught that he had heard enough and walked up to the door, doorman said "eight" the man replied "4" but he was not let in. What should he say? so that he gets in.

What do you mean by that? Is it some kind of joke I didn't get?

What do you mean by that? Is it some kind of joke I didn't get?

That is the example for his problem.

That is the example for his problem.

ah!, it was too late in the morning!

he should say 5, by the way.