If you are really completely new to programming, or if you have done a little bit of programming some time ago, you might be interested in using the Visual Studio Express Edition products. However, even though Microsoft says these products are aimed at novices and hobbyists, their definition of "novice" refers to someone who actually has some programming knowledge, perhaps in a different language for example.

If you really are an absolute newbie and you want to get up to speed, I have yet to find a better way than a series of videos by a gentleman named Bob Tabor. This series really gives you an excellent grasp of the basics and takes you all the way through creating a fully functioning application.

One thing. If you are an experienced programmer, you will likely find this series TOO basic, but even the author says that if you are experienced, you could probably find a better way to spend your time. However, I have yet to find a better source of information anywhere for those who are serious about LEARNING to program using Visual Studio, but don't have hundreds of dollars to drop on a course, and believe me I have combed many forums and developer sites and even cornered programmers I know. Too often it's hard to get specific answers to address your confusion as a beginner, and this series is a tremendous help.

Not that I am anyone of importance, but I highly recommend this series. Here's the link:

http://lab.msdn.microsoft.com/express/beginner/

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Any books you can recommand ?

>you might be interested in using the Visual Studio Express Edition products.
I only have one question: How much is Microsoft paying you to promote their stuff on random forums?

Microsoft doesn't pay me anything. I have to pay the same for their products as anyone else.