Hello! I'm new to the DaniWeb, so I'm not sure what I'm allowed to ask, and I don't have enough time to search for all rules right now. I have to write a program for tomorrow, otherwise I won't be able to pass the year. It's a bit difficult to explain the organization with professors, so I got to write a program, before I even had a chance to learn the entire Pascal syntax - my prof. didn't teach my class everything so he will, but the day after I need this.

I have to write two programs in Turbo Pascal:
1. The first program should create a binary file and than write to it. It should read two values from a keyboard, the first representing the x coordinate, and the second representing the y coordinate of a point in a plane, and than write that to the file.
2. The second program should read from that binary file, and put its values into a single linked list, in the same order as it was in the file. After that program should remove the coordinates of the farthest point from the point (x=0 y=0), and remove linked list from memory.

First of all, I'm not quite sure how to create a binary file. I was thinking to do that the same way I would do for text files. Here's what I've done:
1st program:

PROGRAM create;

TYPE
    point = RECORD
          x: real;
          y: real;
    END;

VAR
   output_file: FILE OF point;
   number, i: integer;
   ordinate, abscissa: point;

BEGIN
     assign (output_file, 'out.dat');
     rewrite (output_file);
     write (output, 'Enter a number of points in a plane: ');
     readln (input, number);
     FOR i := 1 TO number DO BEGIN
         write (output, 'Enter a coordinate of the ', i, '. point (x, y): ');
         readln (input, ordinate.x, abscissa.y);
         write (output_file, ordinate);
         write (output_file, abscissa);
     END;
     close (output_file);
END.

Is the above code all right? Did I miss something?

And About the 2nd program, I don't know how to call the file out.dat and to read it's content.