Hey everyone,

I'm relatively new to C++, cant seem to find a solution to my problem.

I'm trying to randomly generate an array of class objects. I'm using rand() to generate a number 1-3, for the number of objects to generate.

For some reason when I use:

int c_gen = rand()%3+1;	
ob ob1[c_gen];

I get a compile error:
error C2057: expected constant expression
error C2466: cannot allocate an array of constant size 0
error C2133: 'ob1' : unknown size

But, if I use any given number such as 3:
ob ob1[3];
The program compiles fine.

I'm not sure what the problem, I even output c_gen just to see if it was generating a number, and it is.

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

That's because you can not set the size of an array at runtime. If you want do this, research dynamic allocations using the new keyword.

Ah ok that makes sense, didn't think about that. Thanks.

I got it working by using:

int c_gen = rand()%3+1;
OB *ob1;
ob1 = new OB[c_gen];

Thanks again!

I got it working by using:

int c_gen = rand()%3+1;
OB *ob1;
ob1 = new OB[c_gen];

Thanks again!

Okay, but now you have to be cautious of memory leaks, when you have finished doing stuff with ob1, you MUST free that memory using the delete oeprator, like this:

delete[] ob1;

Hope this helps.

Okay, but now you have to be cautious of memory leaks, when you have finished doing stuff with ob1, you MUST free that memory using the delete oeprator, like this:

delete[] ob1;

Hope this helps.

Just read about delete[], good learning experience.

Thanks again.

Alright, now I have a new problem.

How would I remove a single element from the object array? I've tried a few things and looked it up, but I cant seem to get it.

Lets say:

OBJECT ob1[3];  //class OBJECT

And I want to remove the 3rd element of ob1[];

Alright, now I have a new problem.

How would I remove a single element from the object array? I've tried a few things and looked it up, but I cant seem to get it.

Lets say:

OBJECT ob1[3];  //class OBJECT